Participants

PARTICIPANTS

BIBLIODIVERSITY AMBASSADORS

SPEAKERS

John B. Thompson

sociologist, United Kingdom

John B. Thompson is Emeritus Professor of Sociology at the University of Cambridge and a Fellow of Jesus College, Cambridge. His publications include Ideology and Modern Culture (1990), The Media and Modernity (1995), Political Scandal (2000), Books in the Digital Age (2005), Merchants of Culture (2010, 2012) and Book Wars (2021). His books have been translated into more than a dozen languages and he was awarded the European Amalfi Prize for Sociology and the Social Sciences in 2001 for Political Scandal.

Julien Lefort-Favreau

professor of Contemporary Literature and Critical Theory, Québec/ Canada

Julien Lefort-Favreau is Assistant Professor in the Department of French Studies at Queen's University (Kingston, Canada). His main publications are: Henri Deluy, ici et ailleurs (with Saskia Deluy), Le Temps des cerises, 2017; Politique de l'autobiographie. Engagements et subjectivités (with Jean-François Hamel and Barbara Havercroft), Nota Bene, 2017; Pierre Guyotat politique, Lux éditeur, 2018; Le luxe de l'indépendance. Réflexions sur le monde du livre, Lux éditeur, 2021. Since 2012, he is a member of the editorial board of the journal Liberté.

Gisèle Sapiro

sociologist, France

Gisèle Sapiro is director of research at the EHESS and director of research at the CNRS, member of the Academia Europae. An expert in the sociology of intellectuals, literature, censorship, publishing and translation, she is the author of La Guerre des écrivains, 1940-1953 (Fayard 1999); La Responsabilité de l'écrivain (Seuil 2011); Les Écrivains et la politique en France (Seuil 2018); Peut-on dissocier l'œuvre de l'auteur ? (Seuil 2020; Spanish and Portuguese translations); Des mots qui tuent (Points Seuil 2020). She has also copublishing : Translatio. Le marché de la traduction en France à l'heure de la mondialisation (CNRS Eds 2008); Les Contradictions de la globalisation éditoriale (Nouveau Monde 2009; trad. esp.); L'Espace intellectuel en Europe (La Découverte 2009); Traduire la littérature et les sciences humaines (DEPS 2012); Sciences humaines en traduction (Institut français 2014, online).

José Bellver

economist and researcher, Madrid

José Bellver is an economist and specialist in ecological issues. He has been a lecturer at the University of Valladolid and a researcher at the FUHEM Ecosocial Foundation, which promotes social justice, democracy and sustainability through education and research on ecological and social issues. At FUHEM, he has also worked in the field of publishing, notably for the journal Papeles de relaciones ecosociales y cambio global, and for the annual reports of the Worldwatch Institute.

 

 

Ana Gallego Cuiñas

Social and Cultural Anthropology, University of Granada

Ana Gallego Cuiñas is Professor of Latin American Literature at the University of Granada. She holds a PhD in Hispanic Philology and a degree in Social and Cultural Anthropology. She has worked in the Ramón y Cajal programme and has been a visiting scholar at UCLA, Princeton, Paris-Sorbonne, Buenos Aires and Yale. She is the director of the R&D projects ECOEDIT, on independent publishing in Spain and America, and FEMENEDIT, on women publishers.

Maria José Galvez

Director General of Books and Reading Promotion, Ministry of Culture

Born in Valencia in 1975, María José Gálvez holds a doctorate in law from the University of Valencia. She did several research fellowships at Harvard, Pisa and Brussels. She has been editorial and training director at the Tirant lo Blanch publishing house. Previously, she was advisor to two first vice-presidents of the government, deputy director of the office of the president of the Congress of Deputies, assistant to the European Parliament, lecturer at the Universidad Carlos III de Madrid and tutor at the Universitat Oberta de Catalunya and the UNED. She is currently Director General of Books and Reading Promotion at the Ministry of Culture and Sports.

Kenza Sefrioui

publisher (En toutes lettres), Morocco

Kenza Sefrioui is a cultural journalist, literary critic and publisher. Co-founder of the publishing house En toutes lettres and cultural activist, she is the author of a study on the book in Morocco: Le livre à l’épreuve, les failles de la chaîne au Maroc (En toutes lettres, 2017). She also wrote her thesis on La Revue Souffles (1966-1973), Espoirs de révolution culturelle au Maroc (Sirocco, 2013, Prix Grand Atlas 2013).

Anaïs Massola

bookseller (Le Rideau rouge and co-founder of the Association pour l’écologie du livre), France

Anaïs Massola is President of the Association pour l'écologie du livre (France) which, since its creation in 2019, has been working to disseminate the concept of ecology in the book and reading sector, as well as in civil society. Anaïs Massola also runs the bookshop Le rideau rouge, in Paris.

Esther Merino

publisher (éditions les Monédières and chair of the Association des Éditeurs de Nouvelle-Aquitaine), France

Esther Merino arrived in France in 1997. In 2012, she left her position as Communications Director and created Sol y Lune Éditions, a publishing house specialising in the publication of contemporary Spanish authors. In 2019, Esther took over Les Monédières, a generalist publishing house with multiple collections that she now manages, focusing on the quality of the texts. Very involved in the development of the publishing profession, Esther is now President of AENA (Association des Éditeurs en Nouvelle-Aquitaine) and Secretary of the recently created FEDEI (Federation of Independent Publishers).

Alfonso Serrano

publisher (La Oveja Roja), Madrid

For more than two decades, Alfonso Serrano worked in very different places in the book ecosystem, in France, Spain and several Latin American countries. In recent years, he has focused his efforts on the publishing house La Oveja Roja and the bookshop Contrabandos. 

Ronny Agustinus

publisher (Marjin Kiri), Indonesia

Ronny Agustinus is an editor and translator at Marjin Kiri publishers (Indonesia). Founded in 2005, Marjin Kiri is a left-wing publishing house specialising in humanities, social sciences, Marxist books, literature and progressive politics. Ronny is an avid reader of Latin American literature. 

Paulo Slachevsky

publisher (Lom Ediciones), Chile

Paulo Slachevsky is co-director and co-founder of Lom ediciones, and a photographer, editor and journalist. In 2014, he was awarded the Order of Arts and Letters of France. He is the author of the photography book Fragmentos de un despertar (2021). He was founding president of the Chilean Publishers Association and is the current coordinator of the Spanish-speaking publishers' network of the International Alliance of Independent Publishers.

Julia Ortiz

publisher (Criatura Editora), Uruguay

Julia Ortiz has a degree in literature (Universidad de la República). She has worked as a proofreader, and as a researcher at the FHCE (on topics related to translation). She has taught Spanish and was tutoring the online postgraduate course “La práctica de la escritura" (FLACSO). She is a lecturer at the Tecnicatura Universitaria on issues of style correction (FHCE). She has been managing the publishing house Criatura editora since its creation in 2011.

Mohamed El Baaly

publisher (Sefsafa Publishing), Egypt

Mohamed El-Baaly is an Egyptian publisher, writer and cultural activist. In 2009, he co-founded Sefsafa Publishing House that has published more than 300 titles and proved to be one of the most active small publishing houses in Egypt since then. Mohamed El-Baaly was involved in the Arab Spring from the beginning and committed to the movement of change in the region.

Antoinette Koleva

publisher (KX Critique and Humanism), Bulgaria

Antoaneta Koleva is director of KX Critique & Humanism – a publishing house producing books mainly in humanities and social sciences. Philosopher by education, she has specialized philosophy, translation, publishing management in France, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, USA, etc. Antoaneta has also translated more than 20 volumes of contemporary philosophy. Author of texts in Bulgarian, English, French and German on the intellectual heritage of the postmodern tradition, on translating and publishing humanities. Initiator of experimental projects for alternative public promotion of books.

Garazi Arrula

Basque language publisher (Txalaparta), Navarre

Garazi Arrula Ruiz (Tafalla, 1987) is an editor at Txalaparta. She presented her doctoral thesis on self-translation in 2018 (UPV/EHU), and has translated literary works for adults and children into Basque. She is also the author of two books and participates in various cultural events.

Gilles Colleu

publisher (Vents d'ailleurs), France

Gilles Colleu taught publishing and editorial skills for almost thirty years at the University of Paris XIII, then at Aix-en-Provence. For several years he was also the production director of Actes Sud and directed its digital division. He was one of the founders of the Alliance Lab of the International Alliance of Independent Publishers. He is the author of children’s books, both print and digital, and of the book Éditeurs indépendants : de l’âge de raison vers l’offensive ?. The latter, published in 2007, sets out the essential conditions for the existence of bibliodiversity in the era of the financialisation of cultural industries. He co-founded with Jutta Hepke the publishing house Vents d'ailleurs and currently runs the book printing house Yenooa.

Susan Hawthorne

Publisher (Spinifex Press), Australia

Susan Hawthorne is the co-founder with Renate Klein of the independent feminist publishing house, Spinifex Press. From 2012 to 2016 she was the English language network coordinator of the International Alliance of Independent Publishers and in 2014 she released her book, Bibliodiversity: A Manifesto for Independent Publishing, available in Arabic, French, Spanish, German and Czech languages. She lives in Australia and is Adjunct Professor at James Cook University, Townsville.

Samar Haddad

publisher (Atlas Publishing), Syria

Samar is a Palestinian-Syrian born owner and publisher of Atlas publishing House (Damascus, Syria) since 2001. She participated in and organized many workshops, round tables, and conferences related to the book industry and cultural issues in Syria, Lebanon and abroad. She is the co-author of the book Regards sur l’édition dans le monde arabe a collective publication of researchers on the book industry in the Arab world (Karthala, Paris, 2016). Member of the International Alliance of Independent Publishers since 2009, she is currently the coordinator of the Arabic Language Network.

Djaïli Amadou Amal

author, Cameroon

Born in 1975 in Maroua, Cameroon, she is a Cameroonian writer and feminist activist. Her first novel Walaande ; l’art de partager un mari, published in 2010, brought her immediate recognition. Her novel, Munyal ; les larmes de la patience, was published in 2017 and in 2018 won the selection of the International Alliance of Independent Publishers, then, in 2019, the Pan-African Press Prize and the Orange Book Prize in Africa. Published in France in 2020 under the title Les Impatientes, the book is a finalist for the Prix Goncourt and winner of the Prix Goncourt des Lycéens. In the wake of this, the book has also been awarded the Goncourt Choix de l'Orient, and prizes in the UK, Tunisia, Serbia, Algeria, Czech Republic, and Greece, as well as the AIMF Literary Prize. In 2012, she founded the Association Femmes du Sahel for the education and development of women in North Cameroon. Djaïli Amadou Amal was awarded the National Order of Valour.

Tomaz Adour

publisher (Vermelho Marinho and LIBRE), Brazil

Tomaz Adour, 50, is an economist and historian, with an MBA in Marketing. Editor at Vermelho Marinho, which specializes in Brazilian and classic authors, has published over 1000 titles since 1998. He is currently president of LIBRE – Liga Brasileira de Editoras Independentes, which advocates bibliodiversity and opportunities for more than 170 independent publishers in Brazil.

Marie Michèle Razafintsalama

publisher (Jeunes malgaches), Madagascar

She founded the bookshop Prediff in 1995. In 2004, she founded the publishing house Jeunes Malgaches, specialising in children's books. She has been fighting against foreign book donations without beneficiary consultations since 2007 and organises activities to promote reading for disadvantaged children with her association APLEM. She is also an author who has already published 9 titles in Malagasy.

David Murray

publisher (Écosociété), Quebec/Canada

Trained as a historian, David Murray has been working in the book industry since 2004 and has been an editor at Écosociété since 2012. Since the early 2000s, he has been involved in the anti-globalisation and degrowth movements, and from 2008 to 2012 he co-edited L’objecteur de croissance, the journal of the Mouvement québécois pour une décroissance conviviale. Having written for various publications and hosted a public affairs radio show for nearly 10 years on CISM in Montreal, he also co-edited the books Creuser jusqu’où ? Extractivisme et limites à la croissance  (with Yves-Marie Abraham, Écosociété, 2015) and Aux origines de la décroissance. Cinquante penseurs  (with Cédric Biagini and Pierre Thiesset, Écosociété/Le pas de côté/L'échappée, 2016). He also participated in the collective works Décroissance. Vocabulaire pour une nouvelle ère (Écosociété, 2016) and Le progrès m’a tuer. Leur écologie et la nôtre (L'échappée/Le pas de côté, 2016), and collaborated on Éric Pineault's book, Le piège Énergie Est. Sortir de l’impasse des sables bitumineux  (Écosociété, 2017).

Corinne Fleury

publisher (Atelier des nomades), Mauritius/France

Corinne Fleury was born in Mauritius and lives in France. After studying literature and publishing in France, she founded the Atelier des Nomades with Anthony Vallet in 2010. Through her publishing house, she aims to promote the literature of the islands of the Indian Ocean. The company publishes children’s books, novels, and coffee table books in French, English and Creole. Corinne Fleury is also a children’s book author and is involved in initiatives to promote reading in Mauritius. She is the organiser of the Mauritius Children’s Book Festival. 

Ibrahima Aya

publisher (Éditions Tombouctou), Mali

Born in Timbuktu (Mali), Ibrahima Aya is an agricultural engineer, writer, and publisher. Co-founder of Editions Tombouctou, he lives in Bamako where, in parallel to his literary and publishing activities, he works as an agronomist. Ibrahima Aya is the co-founder and director of the "Rentrée littéraire du Mali", the leading literary event in Mali, created in 2008 and whose 14th edition will take place from 15 to 19 February 2022 on the theme "Territories and Imaginations".

Barbora Baronová

publisher (wo-men), Czech Republic

Barbora Baronová is an award-winning independent publisher and literary documentarian. Since 2012, she is running and curating the wo-men publishing house. She focuses on art books that combine non-fiction writing and photography. As a lecturer and consultant of book projects, she specializes in self-publishing, independent publishing, bibliodiversity and inclusion of non-mainstream voices.

Azadeh Parsapour

publisher (Nogaam), Iran/ UK

Azadeh Parsapour is a publisher and journalist based in the UK. She has worked in different publications as a copy-editor for years back in Iran. She moved to the UK in 2010 and studied journalism in London Metropolitan University. She is the managing editor of Nogaam e-Publishing that launched in December 2012 in London. Nogaam Publishing uses crowdfunding to publish Iranian censored authors. Parsapour is also the founder of 'Tehran Book Fair, Uncensored' which is an annual book fair for Persian books published outside of Iran by independent publishers free of censorship.

Müge Gursoy Sokmen

publisher (Metis Publishers), Turkey

Editor, translator, and co-founder of Metis Publishers. She acted many years as the Writers in Prison Committee Chair of PEN Turkey. She was the coordinator of the English-speaking network of International Alliance of Independent Publishers between 2016-2020. Her works include World Tribunal on Iraq (WTI), which brings together the proceedings of the WTI, an independent collective effort against the war waged on Iraq.

Dante Gonzales

éditeur (Pakarina Ediciones), Pérou

Dante Gonzalez is a publisher, cultural manager and poet. He studied Andean literature and anthropology at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos (Peru). He was director of the publishing house Andesbooks, and co-editor of the journal Lhymen, Cultura y literatura and the poetry collection Sotto voce. He has worked at the Institute of Peruvian Studies, in the programme Leer es Estar Adelante. He is one of the founders of the Casa de la Literatura Peruana where he served as director of the editorial fund in 2019. He currently runs the publishing house Pakarina Ediciones. His poetry and research have been published in various collections and magazines.

Octavio Kulesz

publisher (Editorial Teseo), Argentina
Octavio Kulesz is an Argentinean philosopher, researcher and digital publisher. Director of Teseo Editions, he is since 2012 one of the coordinators of the Alliance Lab of the International Alliance of Independent Publishers. He is also a member of the UNESCO Bank of Expertise on the 2005 Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions. 
English (UK)

Participants

LES PARTICIPANTS

AMBASSADRICES ET AMBASSADEURS DE LA BIBLIODIVERSITÉ

LES INTERVENANTS

John B. Thompson

sociologue, Royaume-Uni

John B. Thompson est professeur émérite de sociologie à l’université de Cambridge et membre du Jesus College, Cambridge. Il a publié notamment Ideology and Modern Culture (1990), The Media and Modernity (1995), Political Scandal (2000), Books in the Digital Age (2005), Merchants of Culture (2010, 2012) et Book Wars (2021). Ses livres ont été traduits dans plus de douze langues et, en 2001, Political Scandal lui a valu le prix européen d’Amalfi pour la sociologie et les sciences sociales.

Julien Lefort-Favreau

professeur de littérature contemporaine et théorie critique, Québec/Canada

Julien Lefort-Favreau est professeur adjoint au Département d’études françaises de l’Université Queen’s (Kingston, Canada). Ses principales publications sont : Henri Deluy, ici et ailleurs (avec Saskia Deluy), Le Temps des cerises, 2017 ; Politique de l’autobiographie. Engagements et subjectivités (avec Jean-François Hamel et Barbara Havercroft), Nota Bene, 2017 ; Pierre Guyotat politique, Lux éditeur, 2018; Le luxe de l’indépendance. Réflexions sur le monde du livre, Lux éditeur, 2021. Depuis 2012, il est membre du comité de rédaction de la revue Liberté.

Gisèle Sapiro

Sociologue, France

Gisèle Sapiro est directrice d’études à l’EHESS et directrice de recherche au CNRS, membre de l’Academia Europae. Spécialiste de sociologie des intellectuels, de la littérature, de la censure, de l’édition et de la traduction, elle est l’auteure de La Guerre des écrivains, 1940-1953 (Fayard 1999, trad. angl.) ; La Responsabilité de l’écrivain (Seuil 2011) ; Les Ecrivains et la politique en France (Seuil 2018) ; Peut-on dissocier l’œuvre de l’auteur ? (Seuil 2020 ; trads esp. et portug.) ; Des mots qui tuent (Points Seuil 2020). Elle a aussi (co)dirigé : Translatio. Le marché de la traduction en France à l’heure de la mondialisation (CNRS Eds 2008) ; Les Contradictions de la globalisation éditoriale (Nouveau Monde 2009 ; trad. esp.) ; L’Espace intellectuel en Europe (La Découverte 2009) ; Traduire la littérature et les sciences humaines (DEPS 2012) ; Sciences humaines en traduction (Institut français 2014, en ligne).

José Bellver

économiste et chercheur, Madrid

José Bellver est économiste, spécialiste des questions d’écologie. Il a été chargé de cours à l’université de Valladolid et chercheur au sein de la fondation FUHEM Ecosocial, qui promeut la justice sociale, la démocratie et la durabilité par l’éducation et la recherche sur des questions d’ordre écologique et social. À la FUHEM, il a également travaillé dans le domaine de l’édition, notamment pour la revue Papeles de relaciones ecosociales y cambio global, et dans le cadre des rapports annuels du Worldwatch Institute.

 

 

Ana Gallego Cuiñas

Anthropologie sociale et culturelle, Université de Grenade

Ana Gallego Cuiñas est professeure de littérature latino-américaine à l’Université de Grenade. Titulaire d’un doctorat en philologie hispanique et d’un diplôme en anthropologie sociale et culturelle, elle a travaillé dans le cadre du programme « Ramón y Cajal » et a été chercheuse invitée à UCLA, Princeton, Paris-Sorbonne, Buenos Aires et Yale. Elle est directrice des projets de R&D ECOEDIT, sur l’édition indépendante en Espagne et en Amérique, et de FEMENEDIT, sur les femmes éditrices.

Maria José Galvez

Directrice générale du livre et de la promotion de la lecture, ministère de la Culture

Née à Valence en 1975, María José Gálvez est titulaire d’un doctorat en droit de l’université de Valence. Elle a effectué plusieurs séjours de recherche à Harvard, Pise et Bruxelles. Elle a été directrice éditoriale et de la formation au sein de la maison d’édition Tirant lo Blanch. Auparavant, elle a été conseillère de deux premiers vice-présidents du gouvernement, directrice adjointe du cabinet du président du Congrès des députés, assistante au Parlement européen, chargée de cours à l’Université Carlos III de Madrid et tutrice à l’Universitat Oberta de Catalunya et à l’UNED. Elle occupe actuellement le poste de directrice générale du livre et de la promotion de la lecture au ministère de la Culture et des Sports.

Kenza Sefrioui

éditrice (En toutes lettres), Maroc

Kenza Sefrioui est journaliste culturelle, critique littéraire et éditrice. Cofondatrice des éditions En toutes lettres et activiste culturelle, elle est l’auteure d’une enquête sur le livre au Maroc : Le livre à l’épreuve, les failles de la chaîne au Maroc (En toutes lettres, 2017). Elle a également consacré sa thèse à La Revue Souffles (1966-1973), Espoirs de révolution culturelle au Maroc (Sirocco, 2013, Prix Grand Atlas 2013).

Anaïs Massola

libraire (Le Rideau rouge et cofondatrice de l’Association pour l’écologie du livre), France

Anaïs Massola est Présidente de l’Association pour l’écologie du livre (France) qui depuis sa création en 2019 œuvre à la diffusion des idées de l’écologie auprès de l’ensemble des acteurs et actrices du livre et de la lecture, ainsi que de la société civile. Anaïs Massola dirige aussi la librairie Le rideau rouge, à Paris.

Esther Merino

éditrice (éditions les Monédières et vice-présidente de l’Association des Édi-teurs de Nouvelle-Aquitaine), France

Esther Merino arrive en France en 1997. En 2012, elle quitte son poste de Directrice de la communication et crée Sol y Lune Éditions, maison d’édition spécialisée dans la publication d’auteurs espagnols contemporains. Esther reprend en 2019 les Éditions Les Monédières, maison d’édition généraliste aux collections multiples qu’elle dirige et développe maintenant, en mettant l’accent sur la qualité des textes. Très impliquée dans l’évolution de la vie de son métier d’éditeur, Esther est aujourd’hui Présidente de l’AENA (Association des Éditeurs en Nouvelle-Aquitaine) et secrétaire de la FEDEI (Fédération des éditions indépendantes ) récemment créée.

Alfonso Serrano

éditeur (La Oveja Roja), Madrid

Depuis plus de deux décennies, Alfonso Serrano a eu l’occasion de travailler dans des lieux très différents de l’écosystème du livre, en France, en Espagne et dans plusieurs pays d’Amérique latine. Ces dernières années, il a concentré ses efforts sur la maison d’édition La Oveja Roja et la librairie Contrabandos. 

Ronny Agustinus

éditeur (Marjin Kiri), Indonésie

Ronny Agustinus est éditeur et traducteur au sein de la maison d’édition Marjin Kiri (Indonésie). Fondée en 2005, Marjin Kiri est une maison d’édition de gauche spécialisée dans les sciences humaines, les sciences sociales, les livres marxistes, la littérature et la politique progressiste. Ronny est un lecteur passionné de littérature latino-américaine. 

Paulo Slachevsky

éditeur (Lom Ediciones), Chili

Paulo Slachevsky est codirecteur et cofondateur de Lom ediciones ; photographe, éditeur et journaliste, il a été nommé Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres de France (2014). Il est l’auteur du livre de photographies Fragmentos de un despertar (2021). Il a été président fondateur de l’Association des éditeurs chiliens et il est l’actuel coordinateur du réseau des éditeurs hispanophones de l’Alliance internationale des éditeurs indépendants.

Julia Ortiz

éditrice (Criatura Editora), Uruguay

Julia Ortiz est diplômée en littérature (Universidad de la República). Elle a travaillé comme correctrice, comme chercheuse à la FHCE (sur les thèmes liés à la traduction). Elle a enseigné l’espagnol et a été tutrice du cours virtuel de troisième cycle intitulé « La práctica de la escritura » (FLACSO). Elle est chargée de cours à la Tecnicatura Universitaria sur les questions de correction de style (FHCE). Elle est responsable de la maison d’édition Criatura editora depuis sa création en 2011.

Mohamed El Baaly

éditeur (Sefsafa Publishing), Égypte

Mohamed El-Baaly est un éditeur, écrivain et activiste culturel égyptien. En 2009, il a cofondé la maison d’édition Sefsafa qui a publié plus de 300 titres et s’avère être l’une des petites maisons d’édition les plus actives en Égypte. Mohamed El-Baaly a participé au printemps arabe dès le départ, et s’est engagé dans les mouvements pour le changement dans la région.

Antoinette Koleva

éditrice (KX Critique and Humanism), Bulgarie

Antoaneta Koleva est directrice de KX Critique and Humanism – une maison d’édition qui publie des livres essentiellement en sciences humaines et sociales. Philosophe de formation, elle s’est spécialisée dans la philosophie, la traduction, la gestion de l’édition en France, au Royaume-Uni, en République tchèque, aux États-Unis, etc. Antoaneta a également traduit plus de 20 volumes de philosophie contemporaine. Auteur de textes en bulgare, anglais, français et allemand sur l’héritage intellectuel de la tradition postmoderne, sur la traduction et l’édition de contenus de sciences humaines. Initiatrice de projets expérimentaux de promotion publique alternative du livre.

Garazi Arrula

éditrice en langue basque (Txalaparta), Navarre

Garazi Arrula Ruiz (Tafalla, 1987) est éditrice en Txalaparta. Elle a présenté sa thèse de doctorat sur l’autotraduction en 2018 (UPV/EHU), et a traduit en basque des œuvres littéraires pour adultes ainsi que des livres pour enfants. Elle est également l’auteur de deux ouvrages et participe à diverses manifestations culturelles.

Gilles Colleu

éditeur (Vents d'ailleurs), France

Gilles Colleu a pendant presque trente ans enseigné l’édition et les techniques éditoriales à l’université Paris XIII, puis à Aix-en-Provence.  Il a été également pendant quelques années directeur de la production des éditions Actes Sud et en a dirigé le développement numérique.
Il a participé à la fondation du laboratoire numérique de l’Alliance internationale des éditeurs indépendants. Il est l’auteur pour la jeunesse d’ouvrages papiers ou numériques et du livre Éditeurs indépendants : de l’âge de raison vers l’offensive ? Ce dernier, paru en 2007, pose les conditions indispensables de l’existence de la bibliodiversité à l’ère de la financiarisation des industries culturelles.
Il a cofondé avec Jutta Hepke les éditions Vents d’ailleurs et anime actuellement l’imprimerie de livres Yenooa.

Susan Hawthorne

éditrice (Spinifex Press), Australie

Susan Hawthorne est la cofondatrice avec Renate Klein de la maison d’édition féministe indépendante, Spinifex Press. De 2012 à 2016, elle a été la coordinatrice du réseau anglophone de l’Alliance internationale des éditeurs indépendants et a publié en 2014 son livre, Bibliodiversity: A Manifesto for Independent Publishing (Bibliodiversité. Manifeste pour l’édition indépendante), disponible en arabe, français, espagnol, allemand et tchèque. Elle vit en Australie et est professeur adjoint à l’université James Cook de Townsville.

Samar Haddad

éditrice (Atlas Publishing), Syrie

Samar Haddad, d’origine palestinienne et syrienne, est éditrice et directrice de la maison d’édition Atlas (Damas, Syrie) depuis 2001. Elle a organisé et participé à de nombreux ateliers, tables rondes et conférences liés à l’industrie du livre et aux questions culturelles en Syrie, au Liban et à l’étranger. Elle est co-auteur de l’ouvrage Regards sur l’édition dans le monde arabe une publication collective de chercheurs sur l’industrie du livre dans le monde arabe (Karthala, Paris, 2016). Membre de l’Alliance internationale des éditeurs indépendants depuis 2009, elle est actuellement coordinatrice du réseau arabophone.

Djaïli Amadou Amal

autrice, Cameroun

Djaïli Amadou Amal, née en 1975 à Maroua au Cameroun, est une femme de lettre et militante féministe camerounaise. Son premier roman Walaande ; l’art de partager un mari, paru en 2010, lui conféra une renommée immédiate. Son roman, Munyal ; les larmes de la patience, paraît en 2017 et remporte en 2018 la sélection de l’Alliance internationale des éditeurs indépendants, puis, en 2019, le Prix de la Presse Panafricaine et le Prix Orange du Livre en Afrique. Paru en France en 2020 sous le titre Les Impatientes, l’ouvrage sera finaliste du Prix Goncourt et lauréat Prix Goncourt des Lycéens. Dans la foulée, l’ouvrage sera également, à ce jour, lauréat des prix Goncourt Choix de l’Orient, du Royaume-Uni, de la Tunisie, de Serbie, de l’Algérie, de la République tchèque, et de la Grèce, ainsi que du Prix littéraire de l’AIMF. En 2012, elle fonde l’Association Femmes du Sahel pour l’éducation et le développement de la femme dans le Nord-Cameroun. Djaïli Amadou Amal est Officier de l’Ordre National de la Valeur.

Tomaz Adour

éditeur (Vermelho Marinho et LIBRE), Brésil

Tomaz Adour, 50 ans, est économiste et historien, titulaire d’un MBA en marketing. Éditeur chez Vermelho Marinho, spécialiste des auteurs brésiliens et classiques, il a publié plus de 1 000 titres depuis 1998. Il est actuellement président de LIBRE – Liga Brasileira de Editoras Independentes, qui défend la bibliodiversité et les intérêts de plus de 170 éditeurs indépendants au Brésil.

Marie Michèle Razafintsalama

éditrice (Jeunes malgaches), Madagascar

Marie-Michèle Razafintsalama a créé la librairie Prediff en 1995. En 2004, elle crée la maison d’édition Jeunes Malgaches, spécialisée jeunesse. Elle combat les dons de livres étrangers quand il est pratiqué sans concertation avec les bénéficiaires et organise des activités de promotion de la lecture pour les enfants défavorisés avec son association APLEM. Marie Michèle est également autrice de 9 titres en malgache.

David Murray

éditeur (Écosociété), Québec/Canada

Historien de formation, David Murray œuvre dans le milieu du livre depuis 2004 et est éditeur aux éditions Écosociété depuis 2012. Gravitant depuis le début des années 2000 autour des milieux altermondialistes et de la décroissance, il a codirigé de 2008 à 2012 L’objecteur de croissance, le journal du Mouvement québécois pour une décroissance conviviale. Ayant écrit pour diverses publications et animé une émission de radio d’affaires publiques pendant près de 10 ans sur les ondes de CISM, à Montréal, il a aussi codirigé les ouvrages Creuser jusqu’où ? Extractivisme et limites à la croissance (avec Yves-Marie Abraham, Écosociété, 2015) et Aux origines de la décroissance. Cinquante penseurs (avec Cédric Biagini et Pierre Thiesset, Écosociété/Le pas de côté/L’échappée, 2016). Il a participé, par ailleurs, aux ouvrages collectifs Décroissance. Vocabulaire pour une nouvelle ère (Écosociété, 2016) et Le progrès m’a tuer. Leur écologie et la nôtre (L’échappée/Le pas de côté, 2016), et collaboré à la rédaction du livre d’Éric Pineault, Le piège Énergie Est. Sortir de l’impasse des sables bitumineux (Écosociété, 2017).

Corinne Fleury

éditrice (Atelier des nomades), Ile Maurice/France

Corinne Fleury est née à l’île Maurice et vit en France. Après des études de lettres et d’édition en France, elle fonde en 2010 avec Anthony Vallet, l’Atelier des Nomades. Elle tend, par sa maison, à valoriser les littératures des îles de l’océan Indien. La maison publie des livres pour la jeunesse, des romans et des livres d’art de vivre en français, en anglais et en créole. Corinne Fleury est aussi auteure pour la jeunesse et s’engage dans des actions de promotion de la lecture à l’île Maurice. Elle est l’organisatrice du Festival du livre jeunesse de l’île Maurice. 

Ibrahima Aya

éditeur (Éditions Tombouctou), Mali

Natif de Tombouctou (Mali), Ibrahima Aya est ingénieur agronome, écrivain et éditeur. Cofondateur des Éditions Tombouctou, il vit à Bamako où, parallèlement à ses activités littéraires et éditoriales, il exerce sa profession d’agronome. Ibrahima Aya est le cofondateur et le directeur de la « Rentrée littéraire du Mali », l’évènement littéraire de référence au Mali, créé en 2008 et dont la 14ème édition aura lieu du 15 au 19 février 2022 sur le thème «Territoires et imaginaires ».

Barbora Baronová

éditrice (wo-men), République tchèque

Barbora Baronová est une éditrice indépendante, maintes fois primées, et une documentariste littéraire. Depuis 2012, elle dirige et gère la maison d’édition wo-men. Elle se consacre aux livres d’art qui combinent l’écriture de non-fiction et la photographie. En tant que conférencière et consultante pour des projets d’ouvrages, elle se spécialise dans l’auto-édition, l’édition indépendante, la bibliodiversité et l’inclusion de voix non conventionnelles.

Azadeh Parsapour

éditrice (Nogaam), Iran/Royaume Uni

Azadeh Parsapour est éditrice et journaliste, basée au Royaume-Uni. Elle a travaillé pendant des années dans différentes publications en tant que rédactrice en Iran. Elle s’est installée au Royaume-Uni en 2010 et a étudié le journalisme à la London Metropolitan University. Elle dirige la rédaction de Nogaam e-Publishing qui a été lancée en décembre 2012 à Londres. Nogaam Publishing utilise le crowdfunding pour publier des auteurs iraniens censurés. Parsapour est également la fondatrice de ‘Tehran Book Fair, Uncensored’, une foire annuelle du livre dédiée aux livres persans publiés en dehors de l’Iran par des éditeurs indépendants libres de toute censure.

Müge Gursoy Sokmen

éditrice (Metis Publishers), Turquie

Müge Gürsoy Sökmen est éditrice, traductrice et cofondatrice de Metis Publications. Elle a été durant de nombreuses années présidente du comité des écrivains en prison de PEN Turquie. Elle a coordonné le réseau anglophone de l’Alliance internationale des éditeurs indépendants entre 2016 et 2020. Elle a notamment publié World Tribunal on Iraq (WTI), qui rassemble les actes du WTI, un effort collectif indépendant contre la guerre menée en Irak.

Dante Gonzales

éditeur (Pakarina Ediciones), Pérou

Dante Gonzalez est éditeur, gestionnaire culturel et poète. Il a étudié la littérature et l’anthropologie andine à l’Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos (Pérou). Il a été directeur de la maison d’édition Andesbooks, et codirecteur de la revue Lhymen, Cultura y literatura et du recueil de poésie Sotto voce. Il a travaillé à l’Institut d’Études Péruviennes, dans le cadre du programme Leer es Estar Adelante. Il est l’un des fondateurs de la Casa de la Literatura Peruana où il a occupé le poste de directeur du Fonds éditorial en 2019. Il dirige actuellement la maison d’édition Pakarina Ediciones. Sa poésie et ses recherches ont été publiées dans différents recueils et magazines.

Octavio Kulesz

éditeur (Editorial Teseo), Argentine
Octavio Kulesz est un philosophe, chercheur et éditeur numérique argentin. Directeur des éditions Teseo, il est depuis 2012 l’un des coordinateurs du Laboratoire numérique de l’Alliance internationale des éditeurs indépendants. Il est aussi membre de la Banque d’expertise de l’UNESCO sur la Convention de 2005 sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles. 
Français